Supplementary information

The National Association of MD-PhD Programs Executive Committee includes the following individuals:

Myles Akabas, Departments of Physiology and Biophysics, Neuroscience, and Medicine, Albert Einstein College of Medicine

Olaf Andersen, Department of Physiology and Biophysics, Weill-Cornell Medical School Joseph Barbieri, Department of Microbiology and Molecular Genetics, Medical College of Wisconsin

Lawrence F. Brass, Departments of Medicine and Pharmacology, University of Pennsylvania Elise Covic, Dean of Students, University of Chicago

Terence S. Dermody, Departments of Pediatrics and Pathology, Microbiology, and Immunology, Vanderbilt University School of Medicine

Al Goldin, Departments of Microbiology and Molecular Genetics and of Anatomy and Neurobiology, University of California-Irvine

Arthur Gutierrez-Hartmann, Departments of Medicine and of Biochemistry and Molecular Genetics, University of Colorado

Mary Horton, Co-Director, MD-PhD Program, Emory University

Paul Insel, Departments of Pharmacology and Medicine, University of California-San Diego Sandra Lemmon, Department of Molecular and Cellular Pharmacology, University of Miami Robin G. Lorenz, Department of Pathology, University of Alabama at Birmingham Dianna M. Milewicz, Department of Internal Medicine, University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston

Kerry O'Banion, Department of Neurobiology and Anatomy, University of Rochester

Larry Schlesinger, Department of Microbial Infection and Immunity, The Ohio State University; and

Brian Sullivan, Executive Director, MSTP, Washington University.